Acworth Municipal Court

Acworth Municipal Court

The Acworth Municipal Court is a court of limited jurisdiction. Located at 4408 Acworth Industrial Drive, Acworth, GA 30101 this court primarily handles misdemeanor traffic offenses, shoplifting, and marijuana offenses. Felony offenses are not handled in municipal courts. Most cases which involve violation of state law incur a maximum punishment of $1000.00 and/or 12 months incarceration.  If you are being prosecuted pursuant to a violation of a municipal ordinance, typically the maximum punishment will be a $600.00 fine and/or 6 months incarceration. The Chief Judge of the Acworth Municipal Court is Judge Phillip Taylor. His Associate Judges are H. Luke Mayes and Charles Chesbro. All of the judges are part time, holding permanent positons as private attorneys or in some other capacity. The Solicitor or Prosecutor for the City of Acworth is Randal Bentley who is also a part time employee. Court is held one day a week on Tuesday afternoons from 1:30 pm until 5:30 pm. Misty Day is the Clerk for the Acworth Municipal Court. The Clerk’s office is open Monday through Friday from 8:30am until 5:00pm. Most fines can be paid online. To find out your fine amount and whether or not your citation requires a court appearance, you can call (770) 974-0965. More serious misdemeanor offenses such as DUI, Possession of Marijuana, Hit and Run, No Insurance, Reckless Driving, Minor in Possession of Alcohol, Passing a School Bus, Racing, and Suspended License require a mandatory court appearance. If you are charged with one of these offenses, you should first seek the advice of an attorney as charges such as these may result in jail time,...
Are You Properly Insured With Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist Coverage?

Are You Properly Insured With Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist Coverage?

Georgia Law requires an individual to carry a minimum amount of $25,000 of automobile liability insurance. Liability insurance covers you when you are in an automobile accident, and it is determined that you are the driver found to be “at-fault” or the driver found to be liable for the collision. Assuming you have the minimum liability coverage, this means that your insurance will pay up to $25,000 in damages to the other driver on your behalf. For any amount in excess of the $25,000, you would then be potentially personally liable. With the mounting cost of medical expenses it is advisable to carry more than the minimum coverage of $25,000 in order to protect your assets. A simple fracture of an arm or leg that requires surgery can easily have associated medical expenses of $50,000 to $60,000. As a result, many Georgia drivers carry more than the minimal required coverage. These individuals have taken steps to protect themselves from personal liability and to ensure that the medical expenses and pain and suffering damages of those persons to whom they are liable are fulfilled. While these drivers have taken steps to protect themselves from personal liability, many have not taken that additional step to protect themselves from uninsured or underinsured drivers. Statistics vary, but it is estimated that the national average for uninsured drivers of automobiles is 14%. This means that as you travel on your daily errands, 14% of the vehicles you are passing do not have even the required $25,000 worth of automobile insurance. The figure for Georgia drivers is slightly better at 13%, but our neighboring states...
Georgia DUI Ten Day Letter

Georgia DUI Ten Day Letter

If you are charged with DUI in Georgia, the arresting officer is required to fill out a form from the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services (“DDS”) called a DDS 1205 Form.  If the officer fills out this form, the arrested driver must request a hearing with DDS within 10 business days of his or her arrest.  It should be noted that the driver must also send a $150.00 payment along with the request following the procedures outlined in the form.  If the driver does not request a hearing within the deadline, the driver’s license will be suspended (the time depends on the circumstance of the case) pending the outcome of the criminal case.  The hearing on the DDS 1205 is commonly called an Administrative License Suspension Hearing or an ALS hearing for short.  If you are charged with a DUI by Cobb County PD, Marietta PD, Smyrna PD, Acworth PD, Austell PD, Kennesaw PD, KSU PD, SPSU PD or Powder Springs PD, the ALS hearing will be heard on a Monday morning at 8:30 a.m. in Marietta Municipal Court. Despite the fact that officers are “required” to fill out this form, sometimes they don’t do so for a number of different reasons.  One reason some officers don’t fill out and submit the form is if the arrested driver was cooperative and the officer wants to “cut him or her a break.”  Another reason is that the officer doesn’t want to have to attend an early court appearance for the ALS hearing when they have worked a late “morning watch” shift the night before the hearing.  Just because the officer...
How Does Georgia Treat Serious Out-of-State Traffic Convictions?

How Does Georgia Treat Serious Out-of-State Traffic Convictions?

In an effort to protect public safety, Georgia laws treat vehicular crimes equally regardless of where they occur. So when drivers are convicted out of state for certain offenses ¾ ranging from driving with a revoked registration to vehicular homicide ¾ they face harsh penalties in Georgia. The Georgia Department of Driver Services imposes mandatory license suspension for the following crimes committed in or out of state: Vehicular homicide All felonies involving the use of a motor vehicle Eluding an officer using a motor vehicle Fraudulent use of or application for a license or forging an identification document Hit and run Racing Driving with a suspended, canceled or revoked registration Drivers identified as habitual offenders face mandatory revocation of their driving privileges. Particularly if you have been convicted of DUI or other behavior that causes a fatal accident, you need to seek legal support from an experienced Marietta traffic lawyer. Even after conviction, your lawyer can help you regain your driving privileges once the period of suspension or revocation expires. Of course, depending on the details of your conviction, the loss of your license may be only a minor concern as you face possible felony charges and the penalties that come with conviction. This is why it is so important to retain highly experienced criminal defense lawyers. The attorneys at Gentry, Smith, Dettmering, Morgan, Schnatmeier & Collins, LLP have extensive prosecution and judicial experience, allowing us to develop an effective defense for our clients. Contact us today to set up a consultation....