News & Information

Our attorneys keep you up to date with important legal issues

(770) 771-5097

FREE CASE EVALUATION

Don't waste any time and contact us today for your FREE case evaluation. Fill out the form below and one of our attorneys will contact you.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Who Is The Best Attorney In Marietta?

Who Is The Best Attorney In Marietta?

Choosing the Best Criminal Defense Attorney for You Frequently, individuals looking for an attorney pose the following questions to me: “Who is the best attorney in Marietta?” or “Who is the best attorney in Cobb County?” Choosing an attorney who is the best and most qualified to handle your legal issue is very similar to choosing a doctor. Attorneys, like doctors, specialize in particular areas of the practice of law. If you have a heart condition, you would probably not seek the services of an orthopedic surgeon. You want to see a specialist, someone who specializes in the particular ailment or affliction from which you are suffering. The best attorney in defending criminal cases will most likely not be the best attorney to handle your bankruptcy case. The best attorney in Cobb County concerning workers’ compensation matters may not be the best attorney to handle your divorce. You should seek the services of an attorney who specializes in the area in which you require legal assistance. Most attorneys will specialize in one or two areas of the law. If you hope to retain the best attorney to meet your legal needs, you should make sure that your legal issue is one of the areas in which the attorney specializes. To discover how experienced an attorney is in a particular area, you should inquire about the attorney’s experience. When choosing a criminal defense attorney, it is always wise to choose an attorney who is a former prosecutor in the jurisdiction where your charges are pending. The three partners at Gentry, Smith, Dettmering, Morgan, Schnatmeier & Collins, L.L.P. who handle criminal... read more
Are You Properly Insured With Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist Coverage?

Are You Properly Insured With Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist Coverage?

Georgia Law requires an individual to carry a minimum amount of $25,000 of automobile liability insurance. Liability insurance covers you when you are in an automobile accident, and it is determined that you are the driver found to be “at-fault” or the driver found to be liable for the collision. Assuming you have the minimum liability coverage, this means that your insurance will pay up to $25,000 in damages to the other driver on your behalf. For any amount in excess of the $25,000, you would then be potentially personally liable. With the mounting cost of medical expenses it is advisable to carry more than the minimum coverage of $25,000 in order to protect your assets. A simple fracture of an arm or leg that requires surgery can easily have associated medical expenses of $50,000 to $60,000. As a result, many Georgia drivers carry more than the minimal required coverage. These individuals have taken steps to protect themselves from personal liability and to ensure that the medical expenses and pain and suffering damages of those persons to whom they are liable are fulfilled. While these drivers have taken steps to protect themselves from personal liability, many have not taken that additional step to protect themselves from uninsured or underinsured drivers. Statistics vary, but it is estimated that the national average for uninsured drivers of automobiles is 14%. This means that as you travel on your daily errands, 14% of the vehicles you are passing do not have even the required $25,000 worth of automobile insurance. The figure for Georgia drivers is slightly better at 13%, but our neighboring states... read more
Georgia DUI Ten Day Letter

Georgia DUI Ten Day Letter

If you are charged with DUI in Georgia, the arresting officer is required to fill out a form from the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services (“DDS”) called a DDS 1205 Form.  If the officer fills out this form, the arrested driver must request a hearing with DDS within 10 business days of his or her arrest.  It should be noted that the driver must also send a $150.00 payment along with the request following the procedures outlined in the form.  If the driver does not request a hearing within the deadline, the driver’s license will be suspended (the time depends on the circumstance of the case) pending the outcome of the criminal case.  The hearing on the DDS 1205 is commonly called an Administrative License Suspension Hearing or an ALS hearing for short.  If you are charged with a DUI by Cobb County PD, Marietta PD, Smyrna PD, Acworth PD, Austell PD, Kennesaw PD, KSU PD, SPSU PD or Powder Springs PD, the ALS hearing will be heard on a Monday morning at 8:30 a.m. in Marietta Municipal Court. Despite the fact that officers are “required” to fill out this form, sometimes they don’t do so for a number of different reasons.  One reason some officers don’t fill out and submit the form is if the arrested driver was cooperative and the officer wants to “cut him or her a break.”  Another reason is that the officer doesn’t want to have to attend an early court appearance for the ALS hearing when they have worked a late “morning watch” shift the night before the hearing.  Just because the officer... read more

Gentry, Smith, Dettmering, Morgan, Schnatmeier & Collins, LLP

278 North Marietta Pkwy NE
Marietta, GA 30060
Phone: (770) 771-5097

Monday 
Tuesday 
Wednesday 
Thursday 
Friday 
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Contact Us Today For Your FREE Case Evaluation

(770) 771-5097

OR

Send Us An Email